This is the best summer ever.

Breakfast with Tim at Beta Cafe.

Breakfast with Tim at Beta Cafe. Pictured: Oatmeal, Roasted B Sprouts, Organic Egg Whites, Mushrooms, Grapefruit, Blackberries, Wild Rice and BETA BACON.

I exclaimed this to Tim this morning as I was eating this amazing breakfast at Google’s Beta Cafe. Side note: This bacon is the best bacon I’ve ever tasted in my life. It is crispy, maple-ly, savory and smokey. With every piece I bit into, I had to pause, stop talking, moan and thank Jesus for bacon (oh and the pig that gave it’s belly for my belly). Back to this summer being the best  summer ever.

As a teacher that has taught for more years than one hand can show, I have had my fair share of summers. So what’s the big deal about Summer 2013? Here’s the quick recap:

Summer 2008: Internship + Moving to the Bay Area. Every time you have to move, it basically ruins any chance of it being the best summer ever. It’s stressful, sad and just a lot of work!

Summer 2009: Wedding planning for all of June and July, getting married and going on a honeymoon. Don’t get me wrong, I loved getting married, but I would not recommend getting married as a form of relaxation and recovery from a school year.

Summer 2010: I don’t know what I did this summer except go to Hawaii. I think my siblings visited me so I got to play tour guide.

Summer 2011: Changing schools = moving classrooms. (See Summer 2008) This could also be TGI-Health Insurance. Tim suffered a ruptured Achilles Tendon. I got three of my four wisdom teeth yanked. We were popping painkillers like they were going out of style. This summer was a blur.

Summer 2012: Changing rooms in the same school (See Summer 2008) + Colorado for training + Korea, HK and China for vacation. Lots of adventures but went into inservice week a little jet-lagged and delirious.

Summer 2013: Nothing.

Though nothing “big” is happening, our house is going through significant TLC during this time! More about that later. It’s been such a glorious two weeks, I can’t wait for the rest of June + July and a wee-bit of August to unfold.

What would you do with eight weeks of staycation?

7 thoughts on “This is the best summer ever.

Leave a Reply

