Addicted to Squirreling Part 1

Some of you may know that I grew up as a Pastor’s Kid (PK). There are many great things about being a PK. There are also core competencies you gain being a PK. I grew up constantly having people over at our house so much so that I can’t remember a single Thanksgiving that was just “us.” One of the best skills you can acquire if you are to be a PK is to be an excellent picker-upper. It was not uncommon that mom would get off the phone and say “Auntie _____ (in Chinese custom, you always call other adults aunties and uncles no matter how unrelated/related you are) is coming over! And we as kids just knew, it was time to haul butt hide all the $%^ around the house. I mean yes, of course it would have been nice to really clean, but aint nobody got time for that!

I got to be the best damn squirrel-er in San Diego. Dinner table a mess? No problem, stack the papers and put them on the seats. Unfolded laundry all over the couch? Throw them in a basket and hide it in an unsuspecting person’s room. Honest to God this is what I thought cleaning was because that’s how we would roll growing up!

See how I have feigned orderliness with the help of the humble and yet glorious basket.

Display shelves behind the dining table.ImageUnder the coffee table.

Image

In the entertainment unit!

Image

On the other side of the coffee table!

Image

A whole piece of furniture with little drawers built in!

Every family has their junk drawer. That is totally reasonable. In fact if you didn’t have one, I’m 99% sure you have control issues. I had 18. Prior to the start of summer, I swear that every single one of those baskets was filled with crap. What kinda crap?

  • Tangled Nokia/Motorola phone chargers.
  • Appliance manuals
  • 43 cent stamps (we are at 46 cents now)
  • Random foreign currency (Rupees, Wons, Euros, Hong Kong Dollars)
  • Gel pens, Markers, Binder Clips, Paper clips, Hair Ties
  • Random nails and screws
  • 6 nail clippers

It wasn’t until I got married that my house of cards came crashing down. It was bad. Tim would ask, “Hey Candy! Have you seen that bill from the HOA?” “Give me a sec. * Rummages through baskets* TaDAH! It was in Wicker Basket Number 3!!” This happens every. week. Thankfully Tim hasn’t gotten too annoyed at his squirrel of a wife yet because this squirrel still has a fantastic memory. But when I found Tim’s PhD Diploma next to my Laura Ingalls Wilder collection, I had to come to grips with the reality that:

  1. I suck at organizing. (Tragic for someone who thinks she’s a J according to Myers-Briggs)
  2. I can’t go on like this!!!!

And because of it, we inaugurated the S family tradition of THE PURGE. (to be continued)

Leave a Reply

