“30” before “30”

Taken from Flickr - HankWord.

Taken from Flickr – HankWord.

I started hearing about this list a few years back when a few of my friends started turning thirty. This milestone is getting close enough that Tim asks me once every three weeks what I want to do for my THIRTIETH (in a voice reminiscent a grade school teacher teaching his class how to say the word thirtieth) birthday. I always answer the same way: “I don’t knowwwwwww” in that whiney indecisive voice I save exclusively for my husband. After that I usually try to change the subject because I am a firm believer that things will not come to pass if you simply ignore it.

But when I am alone, I do think about turning thirty. And then I get excited and start scribbling down ideas, hopes, dreams and adventures I want to have. I have written several iterations of this list and it’s actually been really hard to come up with a solid 30 before 30! Because I like following rules, I’m going to change them so suit my needs.

Rule #1 – It doesn’t have to be 30 things.

The moment I tried to push myself to hit 30 things, the list started moving toward things that I felt like I should do instead of things I genuinely wanted to do. Examples of these obligatory adventures include: watching the Star Wars Trilogy, Reading a Tolstoy something and going to Chinese/Korean school (feel free to convince me otherwise). This should be fun, challenging and life-giving – not out of guilt or obligation! (This is a reoccurring life-lesson for me)

Rule #2 – It doesn’t have to be by the time I’m 30.

Not that I don’t love deadlines. Because I actually love them. I didn’t want to feed the fear of turning 30 by imagining that something was over. Thankfully Tim has gone before me and I’ve seen first hand that 30 doesn’t suddenly you turn into dinosaur. Not only that, you may actually get better. This analogy is totally kitsch but last time we were wine tasting, the wine guy (what do you call them??) was saying how young cabernets are like teenagers – loud, in your face, lacking sophistication… but as they age they are more refined, smooth, and confidently comfortable in their own skin. I want to believe that this is exactly what getting older is like. So there is no hard deadline for this list. I’ll just keep chugging along as I am alive and kicking!

Candy’s “30” before “30”

  1. Read the entire Harry Potter series
  2. Successfully carve (The snowboarding kind)
  3. Order room service at a hotel
  4. Fitness Goals (Dead lift 2x my body weight, Clean and Jerk my body weight, Back Squat 1.5X my body weight, run a 7:30 mile, complete 10 doubleunders, carry Tim up a flight of stairs)
  5. Give  something away every day for 30 days straight
  6. Take a shot. No mixers. No ice. No chasers.
  7. Memorize a meaningful piece of writing verbatim.
  8. Write a letter to my grandparents in Chinese.
  9. Write a letter to Tim’s parents in Korean.
  10. Grow something from a seed and eat it.
  11. Expand my egg cooking repertoire: poach the perfect egg, make hollandaise, soft-boil egg, fried egg
  12. Make macarons
  13. Debone a chicken
  14. Bike somewhere to run and errand and bike back (background info, I just learned how to ride a back last summer in a Google Parking lot. I haven’t gotten on a bike since.)
  15. Make curtains and pillows.
  16. Make a five course gourmet meal
  17. Learn all the lyrics to a rap song.
  18. Watch a movie in a park (I am not allowed to fall asleep)
  19. Swim (getting in the water counts) with a large mammal (non humans)
  20. Visit the South (as defined by me) This includes: Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Tennessee, South Carolina, North Carolina
  21. Read a play in one sitting.
  22. Complete a race of some kind.
  23. Write a letter to Obama.
  24. Give generously. Anonymously.
  25. Build something out of wood.

Let me know if you want to join me on an adventure. I would LOVE the company!

9 thoughts on ““30” before “30”

  1. This reminds me that sometime Natalie and I should make a list of things we want to do. There’s so much to experience. I particularly appreciate your desire to visit the South, and what appears to be mostly the Deep South. 🙂 Perhaps, though, your spelling of Louisiana is influenced by a rural Southerner’s pronunciation of that state’s name. 😉

  2. I have you to thank Nick for piquing my interest in The South many many decades ago! (Thanks for catching my typo. You’re way better than the native spellchecker in WordPress!)

  3. I love that your 30 before 30 isn’t actually 30, nor does it have to be completed by 30! I think I was too stuck in the “should do” instead of things I want to do, which might be why I never made one of these. I tried reading Anna Karenina when the movie was supposed to come out, but I just couldn’t get past the third chapter.

    1. Please do it.
    4. I have no end of admiration for you.
    7. So curious about what you’re going to choose!
    14. Well, I guess you can’t use that anymore in the “I never…” game.
    15. Yesssss.
    18. Hahahahahahahaha.
    19. Love the qualifiers. I vote that you party it up with a sperm whale.
    20. Can we do that together? Eric and I have been meaning to too!
    21. Again, am intensely interested in what you end up choosing. I have a few favorites.

  4. um. can you write all the time, not just during the summer? hahaha. learn all the lyrics to a rap song and please post a video of it! ;D

    • Aw Tia, thanks for being a fan. The plan is to take summertime candy into the school year. It probably won’t be an every day thing but I think it’ll be good for me.

      Re: Video. Yes, that would be good proof. Though I may not make it past the 30 second mark because I would die of embarrassment.

  5. I’ve been interested in taking a class at the Tech Shop in Menlo Park – that can be your build something out of wood. Want to do it together? 😀

  6. one shot, no chaser. DONE. also, i’d like to be present when you make a rap video and also please take me snowboarding 🙂 thanks!

Leave a Reply

