The best way to cut a watermelon

A couple of weeks ago, Tim and I hosted some friends for brunch and I wanted to make a watermelon salad with mint (which is fabulous by the way if you want to make an easy side that isn’t heavy, but don’t feel like really eating rabbit food). I always wanted to cut melons in a perfect cube but never figured out how to not end up with with lots of triangles with round bottoms. I chalked it up as a guarded culinary school secret (not unlike the many secrets that inhabit the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizzardry).

Thank God for YouTube because seeing this video  changed my watermelon cutting life. I wanted to call every one of my friends and ask them if they knew about this! If you knew about this and kept it to yourself this whole time, shame on you. Tell someone. Tell anyone. You will forever change their life.

IMG_2476

First you must cut off the ends and using a big sharp knife, “peel” the watermelon.

IMG_2477

I don’t know why this picture seems inappropriate to me, but here it is, a naked watermelon! Notice how very little red flesh ended up on the rind.

IMG_2478

This is the best part. Start making graph paper with your watermelon.

IMG_2479

Perfectly cubed watermelon!

I ended up with too much watermelon and not enough tupperware space so I dumped it in a pitcher and added water.

I ended up with too much watermelon and not enough tupperware space so I dumped it in a pitcher and added water.

One thought on “The best way to cut a watermelon

Leave a Reply

