We’re so excited to meet you.

Hi there baby boy,

your first selfie! #tbt

Happy 34 weeks to you! According to the very scientific baby center you are the size of a cantaloupe.

cantaloupe

Which makes no sense at all because last week, you were the size of a pineapple. Clearly these people do not know their fruits!

pineapple

Everyone these days is asking how you are doing, how I am doing, if your dad and I are ready. Since you can’t speak audibly for yourself yet, I have been telling everyone that you are doing great. This is the probably the thing I’ll miss the most about pregnancy – speaking on your behalf with confidence authority like I know you. For example, I tell people that things that you love (and by love I mean things that you kick/roll/jab) for include:

  • Fruit
  • Bread
  • Story time
  • Boyz II Men
  • Beyonce
  • Watching The Bachelor

This is very convenient as I also love all these things.

I also tell people that there are things that you don’t like and scare you  (and by scare I mean things that you kick/roll/jab for) like:

  • Intense movies
  • Exercise

Which is very convenient as I too hate all of these things right now.

Last week we went to a newborn care class and the instructor told us how you are experiencing the world through me. You are getting a taste of everything I’m eating, hearing everything I’m saying, feeling every moment. Tim thought it was so neat and incredible. I on the other hand… felt a wave of embarrassment as I flashed back to all the Jack in the Box Chicken Sandwiches I ate while pregnant with you and all the teachery things I say every day in class 39402 times  like “Class. I need your attention” “Bee Tee Double you that means your voices are off and you are looking at me” “It’s 6th period and you are asking me for a pencil? How do you get through life?” (On that note, you will have at least a dozen sharpened pencils on you, all the time, 24/7. We may forget to pack your lunch, but you will NOT be that kid who doesn’t have a pencil in class!!)

In so many ways you know me much better than I know you. And though it is convenient and wonderful that we have matching diets, sleep and pee schedules right now, we are excited to get to know you and grow in love for you. Party it up in there for a couple more weeks kiddo because your room is a wreck and your parents need some time to get their act together.

love you,

your mama/apartment/heated water balloon

8 thoughts on “We’re so excited to meet you.

  1. Hooray! Getting closer! Ha I love hearing the things other parents intend to be on top of like pencils. I have an aversion to anything “princess” or Disney, so I do what I can to keep it out of the house. When buying a sippy cup of a certain type that I wanted to try that only came in Disney varieties, I chose the boy “Buzz Lightyear” cup rather than any princess.

Leave a Reply

