Month Five

Dear Wes,

DSCF4195

Hi Handsome!

Happy 5 Months to you! Every month seems to top the other month in excitement and development. I remember 3 months ago when we would be THRILLED to see you half-smile at us. We used to ask each other, “Have you seen him smile today?” “No.. not yet.” Fast forward to now when we can make you smile for the camera on demand (granted you are fed of course).

Your new experiences this month include:

  • Your 2nd wedding (and donning the first of many bow ties)
  • Seeing an allergist
  • Your first overnight at grandparents without Mommy or Daddy
  • Your first flight to Oahu

Daddy and I have settled into a routine of taking care of you. I usually get the 11pm-6am shift which includes a feeding or two. (Both of which we are both half asleep for). It is no secret that I love to sleep and am pretty awesome at it that sometimes I wake up in the morning not having remembered if I had gotten up in the middle of the night. In the morning, your dad picks you up while I sleep in. But too often I hear you two giggle and laugh and I get up and join in the fun because I hate missing out on your morning happiness. We usually put you down around 7:30-8:00pm and you cry for about 5-10 minutes before you conk out for the next 5-6 hours. We have been weary of aggressively sleep-training you to get rid of the middle of the night stuff because you have been an itchy guy this last month. And crying usually leads to clawing your face/scalp which leads to more eczema and cuts. We are grateful that despite your skin drama, you manage to still be a delight Wes. You are responsive, happy, easy-going and fun.

So something new in my life is that I decided to take a year off of teaching to hang out with you. It was surprising how bittersweet this decision was. For some reason I thought it would be a no brainer. After all everyone told me that something would feel right and I would just know. Well nothing felt quite right. Being the occasional over thinker I am, I could see both sides of the coin. I admired my friends who were full time moms and had full time jobs outside of the house. I admired my friends who were full time moms and stayed at home during the work day. If I were queen of the world, I would love a part-time job with a live-in chef. (Still waiting for the world to acknowledge my royal highness…) At the end of the day, for now, staying at home with you seems to be the right thing for all three of us. I have to admit that I am more comfortable lesson planning and teaching than being a SAHM. But if you will have me and all my foibles, I’ll give this stay at home stuff my best shot. At the very least we can cuddle and cry together in the afternoon until Daddy comes home from work!

WesTrio

Love,
Mama

Milestones

5 days ago you weighed in at 15 lbs 11 oz. aka heavy and squirmy. These days you wake up between 6:30-7am. You eat and play for about 1.5-2 hours. Then a switch turns on and you just HAVE TO NAP. Most naps last for about 45 minutes and every now and then you are out for 1.5 hours. You still like to eat and now average about 32 ounces of milk every day!

Tummy Time Success! – You still have a big head, but finally your neck muscles have caught up. I wouldn’t go so far as to say that this is your favorite position to hang out in, but we have gone from crying and whining to tolerance and sometimes even a smile!

WesTummy

Rolling

Toys – You now play with toys appropriately! Before we would hold toys in front of you and you’d stare at them… or not. We weren’t quite sure what was happening in your brain. A couple of weeks ago, we gave you Sophie and it was love at first sight. You held onto her neck and nibbled on her ears and her giraffe nubs (Just googled it. Those nubs are called ossicones). It was so cute to see you so excited about Sophie! Those French people really know how to make a toy!

Likes

  • Doctor visits – I think it’s because you get lots of attention from everyone.
  • “Standing”
  • Daddy’s funny noises. He makes you belly laugh like no one else can.

Gripes

  • Being itchy
  • Being ignored
  • Story time :(:(:(  – We probably start story time a little too late. By the time we pick up a book, you are ready to sleep and try to wiggle out of our arms! Hopefully this is only a stage.
One thought on “Month Five

  1. We battled a lot of eczema in the summer months when Jordan was a newborn too! Still a little bit now but it’s gotten a whole ton better with allergist appointments. CeraVe, vanicream and aquaphor are our friends. 🙂 Having a fan or using AC in the hot summer months helps a lot too so they sweat less and get less itchy in their fatty creases. 🙂

    SAHM is not easy, but oh so rewarding especially seeing them learn so many things so fast and grow so so quickly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

